All Go in the Greenhouse

Even though I’ve only had my greenhouse for a few months, I can’t imagine life without it now! It is crammed full of tomatoes, cucumbers and peppers and everything is doing really well.

We’ve already harvested a few of the first red tomatoes (delicious!)

photo-1768

IMG_0353

The cucumbers are doing very well too – we picked the first one a few weeks ago and it all seemed to go very quiet until all of a sudden, tiny cucumber plants sprouted all over the place. There are at least four on one plant and three on another, luckily we eat a lot of it!

IMG_0303

I’m also growing Crystal Apple cucumbers and again, the plant has gone a bit mad – great news as these are the tastiest of cucumbers, can’t understand why they aren’t more popular. I’d never heard of them until last year when I saw a packet of seeds and decided to try them.

IMG_0304

Plenty of peppers in the greenhouse too, I have to keep swapping them round on the shelves to make sure they all get enough sunlight and space.

IMG_0309

We’re now having conversations about whether we should take on an allotment, hope we’re not getting too carried away – this veg growing is a bit addictive…

3 thoughts on “All Go in the Greenhouse

  1. Sue@GLAllotments

    Interesting your views on the lemon cucumber as UI have heard very varying reviews of it. For some reason this year our aubergines are flowering madly but bo fruit is setting. If you are thinking of taking an allotment think whether you can spend enough time there – some councils also rent half plots

    Reply
  2. AllotmentinmyGarden Post author

    The time factor is what is holding me back as I work full time which involves long days, but my husband will help out, he does all the digging & building already 😉 We’re going to go and have a look at the allotments in our village later before we decide.

    Reply
  3. silverbells2012

    It certainly is addictive – a bit sad I had to give up my allotment but if you have the time….

    I have decided a greenhouse is a must-have. Growing all my greenhouse plants on windowsills just doesn’t cut the muster.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

