News from the Potting Shed

I’m beginning to panic a little bit about all the ‘stuff’ I need to get done before we go on holiday for a few weeks (South of France, staying in a lovely little cottage near Nimes, can’t wait!). So I’ve done a bit of gardening in the rain tonight – we did actually have a little bit of sunshine earlier but it soon clouded over.

Before I did anything else, I ‘harvested’ some lettuce, mixed leaves and rocket – all of which has suddenly grown and seem to be taking over the cold frame.

Image

Then some potting on – little and large here were sown on the same day but one courgette plant seems to have done a lot better than the other.

Image

I popped the larger one in a pot, putting in a cane to help support it before placing the plant in the pot – I’ve managed to skewer the roots of a plant in the past so I’m trying to be a bit more careful now…

Some of the tomatoes needed tying up and a couple needed a better cane support so I got those jobs done before making up a couple of hanging baskets which are going to go out at the weekend.  By that time it was raining quite heavily so I put everything back in the greenhouse, watered all the tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers and flowers and made a dash back to the house. Not before taking a couple of photos of the packed greenhouse, a sight that makes me very happy 🙂

ImageImage

13 thoughts on “News from the Potting Shed

  1. silverbells2012

    I can well imagine the sight of such a packed greenhouse makes you happy! Funny how some seedlings take off but others take a lot longer…. Good luck with getting through all the jobs you need to do.

    Reply
    1. AllotmentinmyGarden Post author

      Thank you! I’m still learning so don’t think I have got some of the timings right 😉 Trial and error, as long as I don’t make the same mistake twice it’s ok..

      Reply
    1. AllotmentinmyGarden Post author

      Thank you! Last 2 weren’t as clear as I’d like but the rain and low light don’t help the iPhone camera… How is your courgette doing, have you potted it on yet?

      Reply
  2. acuriousgal

    I would love to have a greenhouse. I’m new at planting and am just testing seeds out, basically to see if they survive and I don’t kill them😂😂🙋

    Reply
    1. AllotmentinmyGarden Post author

      Same here, it is all trial and error! Have you tried one of the plastic frame greenhouses, you can usually pick them up quite cheaply and they are a great way to see whether you would get enough use out of a bigger greenhouse. I had every windowsill in the house full of seedlings before our greenhouse was up, I’d ran out of places to put them!

      Reply
  3. crthompson2013

    Great to see you’re getting some good use out of your new space under glass. My courgettes have stubbornly refused to germinate at all this year. I’ve had a similar problem with my climbing beans. I think something must have happened to them when we flooded as they’re old seeds (teach me for being thrifty!!)

    Reply
    1. AllotmentinmyGarden Post author

      One of my courgettes has been eaten by mystery creatures, I’m not happy! I’ve had trouble with nasturtiums this year, most of them just refused to germinate yet last year I had loads. Lots of my seed packets got a bit damp too when I left my seed tin outside so maybe that’s why.

      Reply
      1. AllotmentinmyGarden Post author

        I think so, they’ve also had most of my marigolds in the front garden too. Not happy! We have loads of frogs and a hedgehog in the garden too, they must be slacking..

Leave a Reply

